Please check the box if you think New Year Resolutions are impossible

Hey there. I know I haven’t updated in a while. Business and laziness don’t mix well, and I’m very good at both of those things. Who would have thought!

I keep seeing advertisements and quotes on Pinterest that are all about making New Year’s Resolutions and recreating yourself, which is all fine and well if you like to fail miserably. Okay maybe that’s a little harsh, but in my own experience if I make a resolution, it seems to be over with in a couple days or so. I’m sure that’s the same with everyone who is even the slightest bit like me. And by “like me” I mean layyyzeee.

I did a little brainstorming this morning at work as to why it is I usually abandon my resolutions. I think the following list sums it up pretty well.

1.) Taking on too much.

I will be the first to admit that I have a really bad habit of taking on way too much. It doesn’t matter if it’s school, work, volunteering, or socializing. I like to think I can do more than is actually possible. I guess a solution to that would be to really limit myself to what I definitely can do. When I make a whole long list of resolutions to stick to without any thought to if I’ll have time or energy to do them really messes me up. This is kind of connected to the next reason.

2.) Not enough organization/ time management.

I feel like if I had ample enough time to plan my resolutions I would actually stick to them. Most of the time, I write a list of stuff to “get done finally!” and magically I think it’s going to happen. HAH. If only that happened! I think some resolutions (like blogging more consistently) really need to be planned out in advance so that it isn’t so overwhelming. I know that if something is planned and ready to go, it’s always sooo much easier.

3.) Laziness.

Daily I battle with my horrible disease. Yes, the affliction is laziness. Hey, don’t judge! Sometimes being lazy is as bad as smoking and stuff. Or not. Exaggeration anyone?

But seriously, it’s at the top of my list of things to not do this year. How exactly I will overcome it is another story… As it stands though, it is an impediment to keeping my resolutions and eventually I’ll have to overcome it. Maybe tomorrow. Or should I save if for next year’s round of resolutions? Annnd I’ll stop there.

As for my actual resolutions I only have a few, which as of yet I haven’t written down. They are to exercise a little bit everyday, pray and be thankful each morning, blog more consistently, save my money for study abroad (!!!),¬† stop procrastinating and watch more How I Met Your Mother and Taylor Swift music videos. (Haha except not because I detest Taylor Swift. However, the one about HIMYM is legit.)

I have some plans and outlines as to how I’ll accomplish each of those, so hopefully this year will be the one in which I actually stick to my resolutions. Although, I think my mom is taking bets on how long it’ll take for me to abandon them, so if you want to make some moolah go ahead and contact her.

Do any of you have resolutions or tips for sticking to them? I’ll accept any and all advice gladly.

Cheers! Marie

2 comments

  1. I completely agree with you. I decided not to make any New Years Resolutions this year, because honestly, I never keep them. I did make a snap decision on Thursday that I wanted to try to go gluten free. People are always talking about how they feel so amazing when they go gluten free (even when they aren’t allergic to it) so I wanted to try and see if I felt any different. Curiosity, mainly. That lasted for about 1 1/2 days…and that whole time I kept forgetting to stop eating bread (aka, sub sandwiches for lunch and pizza for dinner) and to stop snacking on foods with gluten. So yeah that was about the quickest my resolve has disappeared. ;)

    I hope you can stick to your resolutions! I have known people who have done it, and they always feel amazing afterward. :D

    -Tia

    1. Hahah yeah, some of my siblings don’t eat gluten. Maybe the whole feeling better thing is just from not taking in so many carbs…I dunno.

      Thanks! I hope so too.

Remark Below

